The science behind standing

Winston Churchill, Prime Minister of the Unite...
Winston Churchill, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1940 to 1945 and from 1951 to 1955. Deutsch: Winston Churchill, 1940 bis 1945 sowie 1951 bis 1955 Premier des Vereinigten Königreichs und Literaturnobelpreisträger des Jahres 1953. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been using a standing desk now for about 8 months, and I am a very enthusiastic endorser of the practice now. I find that my work quality is better, I am more productive, my energy levels are better, and overall I just feel a lot more effective in my work and my physical well-being. This Economist article points out the current scientific inquiries behind this kind of “low level activity” and why it might be so effective in terms of better health and wellness.

All I know is that my work is a lot better, and I’m not going back to a sitting desk anytime soon. The fact that Winston Churchill, Leonardo da Vinci, and Ernest Hemingway also all “got it and practiced it” is just the icing on the cake — great to be in such exalted company!

2 thoughts on “The science behind standing

  1. So was I for about six months. Then we moved offices, it became inconvenient with the new furniture, and here I sit. And now I’ve added back one of the two belt notches that disappeared while I was standing. So yeah, I need to get back to that, furniture constraints or not. It was good.

    Dave

    1. Right up there with “best thing I ever did” (well, that might be a bit of an exaggeration, but it’s definitely in the top 10). Hope you push to get back to it, Dave. By the way, how was the course? I’m working with a prof right now on designing a course that ultimately will become a MOOC (I hope). Any observations about that you can share with me?

Leave a Reply

